Diwali is a five-day festival that varies in date each year, depending on the Hindu calendar. In 2023, the five days of Diwali are celebrated as follows:

Day 1: Dhanteras (November 10,2023): Dhanteras is the first day of Diwali. It marks the beginning of Diwali and is a day dedicated to celebrating wealth and prosperity. People clean their homes, buy new utensils or jewellery, and light lamps to welcome good fortune. This is the first Diwali holiday in the USA.

Day 2: Naraka Chaturdashi (Choti Diwali - November 11, 2023): Choti Diwali is the day before the main Diwali festival and is often associated with the victory of Lord Krishna over the demon Narakasura. People light lamps and perform rituals to ward off evil.

Day 3: Diwali (Deepavali - November 12, 2023): Diwali, the main festival day, symbolizes the triumph of light over darkness and good over evil. People light oil lamps, burst
fireworks, exchange gifts, and offer prayers to deities.

Day 4: Govardhan Puja (Annakut - November 13, 2023): Govardhan Puja is dedicated to Lord Krishna and is associated with the lifting of Govardhan Hill. Devotees prepare a variety of food offerings (annakut) and worship them in temples and homes.

Day 5: Bhai Dooj (November 15,2023): Bhai Dooj is a day to celebrate the bond between brothers and sisters. Sisters perform aarti for their brothers, apply a tika on their foreheads, and exchange gifts and well-wishes.